Board of Directors

Board of Director meetings are being held virtually due to the pandemic. All MCLT members have the right to attend. Contact to get a virtual meeting invite. Meetings are held at 6pm on the 4th Tuesday of most months.

About the Board of Directors

Directors serve 3-year terms. After each election, the board of directors choose 4 officers (president, vice president, secretary, and treasurer) to serve a 1-year term. Contact the president if there is an issue you think the board needs to consider (the president makes all the agendas). Contact the vice president for questions about democratic process (eg, the president won’t put something on the agenda you think needs to be considered). Contact the secretary to nominate someone or with concerns about membership or records. Inquiries about caucuses should go to and everything else to

Directors and officers can be elected to two consecutive terms; they can be reelected to a third term after a 1-year gap.

Current board of directors

Rusty Borkin | President

First term expires 2023

Rusty has a great deal of experience in the private, public and nonprofit sectors including small businesses,
labor unions, City of Milwaukee, large corporations and community-based organizations. Most recently he was a community organizer for Common Ground, an outreach specialist for Milwaukee JobsWork, and is now as a community wealth building consultant for Walnut Way Conservation Corp.

Rick Banks | Vice President

First term expires 2023

Rick is the Political Director and Organizer for Black Leaders Organizing for Communities.

Nick Gamroth | Secretary

First term expires 2021

Nick is a software engineer working in the agriculture industry. He is a Milwaukee native who lived in different cities around the country for a decade. Since returning he’s be involved with different activist organizations in the area.

Shannon Boone | Treasurer

First term expires 2022

Shannon works at Layton Boulevard West Neighbors. She has studied urban planning and public affairs. She has worked as a general contractor and for the City of Milwaukee as a Housing Rehabilitation Specialist.

Walter Wilson

Second term expires 2022

Walter’ career in construction and architecture spans 50 years. He is a retired Milwaukee County Architect, where he oversaw the maintenance and construction of over 800 buildings of various sizes and types. He holds or has held professional licenses in five states and is one of the few Wisconsin-based Fellows in the American Institute of Architects bearing the title, FAIA. He is also a member of the National Organization of Minority Architects.

Bethany Sanchez

Filling vacancy; eligible for first term in 2021

Bethany Sanchez directs the Fair Lending Program at the Metropolitan Milwaukee Fair Housing Council. Bethany has 40 years of experience working in the nonprofit housing and community development sector in California and Wisconsin. She is the Immediate Past Chair and remains an active participant on the Board of Directors of the National Community Reinvestment Coalition. She was a member of its Community Advisory Council of the Federal Reserve Board. She helped create and is an involved leader in Milwaukee’s homeownership consortium called Take Root Milwaukee, convenes the Milwaukee CRA Caucus, is a member of the United Way’s Public Policy Committee and the Milwaukee COVID Recovery Committee’s Economic Response Team, and participates in the FDIC’s Alliance for Economic Inclusion, the Milwaukee Latino Health Coalition, MKE United, Reclaiming our Neighborhoods, and Bank On Milwaukee.

Bill Kopka

First term expires 2021

Bill is a Community Accountability Officer at Associated Bank. He has extensive experience supporting lending for affordable homeownership opportunities, including Habitat for Humanity. For 8 years, he led a team that underwrote mortgages for Community Land Trust loans.

Ross Eberlein

Second term expires 2021

Ross is a real estate, construction, and public finance attorney at Dorsey & Whitney, LLP. he is also a project architect and managing partner for myVernacular Design Workshop. He is a past member of the distribution committee of the North Central WI Community Foundation.

Dana Williamson

First term expires 2023

Dana is an entrepreneur and the Amani United Housing and Economic Development Chairperson.